Book Review: Me Before You – 3 “you gotta be kidding me” stars

YOU. GOTTA. BE. KIDDING. ME!

I know I’m a minuscule minority here but, I DISLIKED THIS BOOK SO MUCH,  I can’t even!

 

About the Book

 

Me Before You (Me Before You #1), by Jojo Moyes

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

 

Review

First let me say this… Jojo is GOOD. She knows how to write and she is an enthralling storyteller. This is one of those books that gives depth to the characters by drifting away into a thousand backstories without affecting the flow and I have always admired authors that can do that.

And I also liked the premise. I was all in with the idea of Louisa, “an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life” falling in love with Will “who is wheelchair bound after an accident”.

And, there was SO MUCH hype, “A MUST READ”!. And there was the movie. And the story had been compared with The Fault in Our Stars  which I LOVED. And it was about living with serious disability. So, there were all the ingredients for a nice, warm, stew of feels.

And it was, at first.

Learning what it is like to live with Will’s disability was much more than a warm stew of feels. It was a VERY PAINFUL stew of feels, but I sucked it up and kept reading. Because that’s life. There is suffering in real life. My heart curled into a ball in a dark corner of my chest, but I kept reading and I even started drafting a 5-star review.

BECAUSE I THOUGHT THE BOOK WAS ABOUT WILL AND HIS DISABILITY.

But nope. It wasn’t

First, I started to scratch my head often because of Louisa, constantly wondering why Jojo felt she needed to make her not smart AT ALL, not successful AT ALL, with NO dreams whatsoever and completely “uncultured” [Jojo’s words, not mine]. That really didn’t sound like “an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life”. Ordinary people, living ordinary lives, are smart and have dreams and ambitions.

But still the book wanted me to believe that this totally insubstantial Louise, with the IQ of an amoeba, had turned into some kind of heroine. And that’s when I started to get seriously MAD. I was SO unhappy reading this book couldn’t wait for it to end. And, because the writing is SO GOOD I couldn’t even skim through it. I drank every word like a prisoner subject to waterboarding torture.

I felt like a defenseless toddler in a high chair being force to eat broccoli. No matter how tighter I closed my mouth IT WAS GOING TO BE FORCED IN.

I can’t say much more without spoiling the book but I tell you this…

You are supposed to like Louisa because, you know,  she is this girl that “insta-loves”  “poor Will in his wheelchair” [which seemed more pity than love to me] and then there is also all this devotion for Will [which is more like a “I’m gonna love you the way I WANT whether you want it or not].

And there is also this “twist” that anyone can see coming just reading the blur. Something that Will wants that MANY people in his situation would want and you are supposed to feel bad for Louisa because, the poor THING is SO DUMB she NEVER saw it coming. And she felt so blindsided, so betrayed, and it broke HER heart.

Will broke HER heart just by feeling the way he felt about his life.

YOU. GOTTA. BE. KIDDING. ME

And then ALL becomes about poor Louisa and the ordeal Will was putting her through.

But don’t you worry about poor Louisa because, despite the fact she is immensely dumb, selfish and immature, this book makes sure all her issues are addressed. Because HOW DARE WILL MAKE HER GO THROUGH ALL THIS??? But of course it is on him to make her feel better!

YOU. GOTTA. BE. KIDDING. ME

I almost didn’t finish the book at 88%! I was livid that a whole book was written to glorify such a bizarre character.

AND then there was the end. So Louisa has been this impossibly stupid and selfish shell for 90% of the book and… PUFF! Then she does a 180 and she is so understanding and enlightened! The last 10% of the book is not contemporary romance but paranormal romance. She was magically transformed in someone else.

Nuh-uh. Nope. Sorry. That’s why the 3 stars, even though there so so so so much potential for a raving 5-star review.

Because….

I. HATE. To. Be. Fooled. By. Impossible. Character. Arcs.

AND… I ain’t watching the movie either!

But again, Jojo is a VERY GOOD writer So I may try her books again.

Wow this review was exhausting, LOL!

You can tell what a roller coaster it was here in my GR summary…

Did you guys read this book? Watch the movie? DID YOU LIKE IT? Did you find Louisa believable? Please tell me!

Thank you for visiting!

PinterestTwitterGoodreadsAmazonBloglovinInstagram

16 thoughts on “Book Review: Me Before You – 3 “you gotta be kidding me” stars”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial
%d bloggers like this: